0049 941 / 56 76 460

Ragusa


Baroque splendor in scenic surroundings and the sea only a few kilometers off - Ragusa offers whatever a vacationer's heart desires. 

Simply drift along, past gorgeous Baroque façades and monuments. Ragusa-Ibla is one of southern Sicily's treasures you must have seen.

 

Ragusa


Baroque splendor in scenic surroundings and the sea only a few kilometers off - Ragusa offers whatever a vacationer's heart desires. 

Simply drift along, past gorgeous Baroque façades and monuments. Ragusa-Ibla is one of southern Sicily's treasures you must have seen.

Ragusa

Ragusa is a town in southern Sicily, whose name is derived from the Greek word "rogos", which translates as "granary". The town carries its name rightly so, as the golden-yellow fields of grain characterize the landscape around Ragusa and as far as the sea.

Ragusa is found in fantastic location in Monte Iblei, at an altitude of 520 m above sea level. The town center is divided in two by a gorge. Ragusa-Ibla, the Old Town of Ragusa, is located to the east, in the lower town. 

Centro storico Ragusa-Ibla

Visitors are interested mainly in Ragusa-Ibla, the old part. The latter and all its medieval elements were completely destroyed by the devastating earthquake in 1693. The centro storico was, however, then rebuilt in splendor in the style of the Sicilian Baroque. It has meanwhile been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 

The grandest building at Ragusa-Ibla is cathedral San Giorgio, which is dedicated to the patron saint of Ragusa. It was built by architect Rosario Gagliardi. From the cathedral square an impressive flight of stairs leads up to the cathedral's entrance. 

At Giardino Ibleo, the urban park, stop for a break and enjoy the breathtaking view of the valley of the Irminio river and of the gorges from there. At the edge of the park lie the remains of the Norman church San Giorgio Vecchio with its beautiful Gothic portal.

Two other churches lie hidden in the park: Chiesa San Domenico with its majolica-clad bell tower and Chiesa Cappuccini Vecchi with paintings by Pietro Novelli.

Ragusa-Ibla bustles with activity, cafés invite you to linger and shops invite you in to take a look around. 

Ragusa Superiore

At "Ragusa Superiore", the upper part of town, there are more Baroque churches, which were rebuilt after the earthquake and worth a closer look, e.g. Chiesa Santa Maria delle Scale, Chiesa Maria del'Itria and the cathedral in Piazza San Giovanni with its valuable marble ornaments and stuccoworks. 

Museo Archeologico Ibleo, where you can admire the 2600-year-old tombstone of warrior Pirrino of Camarina, is also worth stopping by.

Bathing resort Marina di Ragusa

It is half an hour by car to the small harbor of Marina di Ragusa, where wonderful, gently sloping sandy beaches await you. Stroll along the seaside promenade while savoring some delicious Italian ice cream, then go for a swim in the crystal clear sea - at Marina di Ragusa holiday pleasure is guaranteed. 

More information about and pictures of Marina di Ragusa

 Location

 

 Accommodations

Our accommodations at


No hits

Our accommodations are located near Ragusa at Marina di Ragusa.

0941 / 56 76 460

Ragusa


Barocke Pracht in landschaftlich reizvoller Umgebung und das Meer nur wenige Kilometer entfernt. Ragusa erwartet Sie mit allem, was das Urlauberherz begehrt.

Lassen Sie sich treiben, vorbei an herrlichen barocken Fassaden und Monumenten. Ragusa-Ibla ist eine der Schätze in Südsizilien, die Sie gesehen haben müssen.

 

Ragusa


Barocke Pracht in landschaftlich reizvoller Umgebung und das Meer nur wenige Kilometer entfernt. Ragusa erwartet Sie mit allem, was das Urlauberherz begehrt.

Lassen Sie sich treiben, vorbei an herrlichen barocken Fassaden und Monumenten. Ragusa-Ibla ist eine der Schätze in Südsizilien, die Sie gesehen haben müssen.

Ragusa

Ragusa ist eine Stadt in Südsizilien, deren Name sich vom griechischen „Rogos“ ableitet. Übersetzt heißt es „Getreidespeicher“. Den Namen trägt der Ort zurecht, denn die goldgelben Getreidefelder prägen die Landschaft rund um Ragusa bis hin zum Meer.

Ragusa weist eine fantastische Lage in den Monti Iblei auf einer Höhe von 520 m über dem Meeresspiegel auf. Der Stadtkern ist in zwei Hälften unterteilt, die durch eine Schlucht getrennt sind. Ragusa-Ibla, die Altstadt von Ragusa, liegt im Osten in der Unterstadt.

Centro storico Ragusa-Ibla

Besucher interessiert vor allem der alte Kern Ragusa-Ibla. Dieser wurde zwar mitsamt den mittelalterlichen Bestandteilen bei dem verheerenden Erdbeben im Jahre 1693 komplett zerstört. Das centro storico baute man daraufhin jedoch im Stil des sizilianischen Barocks wieder auf und verlieh ihm neuen Glanz. Dies führte dazu, dass die UNESCO den Stadtteil als „Weltkulturerbe“ auszeichnete.

Prächtigster Bau in Ragusa-Ibla ist die Kathedrale San Giorgio, die dem Schutzheiligen von Ragusa gewidmet ist. Baumeister war der Architekt Rosario Gagliardi. Vom Domplatz aus führt eine imposante Freitreppe zum Eingang der Kathedrale.

Den Stadtpark Giardino Ibleo kann man für eine Pause nutzen und von dort die atemberaubende Aussicht auf das Tal des Flusses Irminio und die Schluchten genießen. Am Rande des Parks ist die Ruine der Normannenkirche San Giorgio Vecchio mit einem schönen gotischen Portal zu sehen.

Zwei weitere Kirchen sind im Park versteckt: Die Chiesa San Domenico mit einem majolikaverkleideten Glockenturm und die Chiesa Cappuccini Vecchi mit Gemälden von Pietro Novelli.

In Ragusa-Ibla herrscht reges Treiben. Cafés und Geschäfte laden zum Verweilen und Bummeln ein.

Ragusa Superiore

Im oberen Teil der Stadt „Ragusa Superiore“ gibt es weitere Barockkirchen zu besichtigen, die nach dem Erdbeben wieder aufgebaut wurden, darunter die Chiesa Santa Maria delle Scale, die Chiesa Maria del’Itria und den mit wertvollen Marmordekorationen und Stuckarbeiten verzierten Dom auf der Piazza San Giovanni.

Einen Besuch wert ist auch das Museo Archeologico Ibleo, in dem ein 2600 Jahre alter Grabstein des Kriegers Pirrino von Camarina bewundert werden kann.

Badeort Marina di Ragusa

Eine halbe Autostunde entfernt lockt das Hafenstädtchen Marina di Ragusa mit traumhaften flach abfallenden Sandstränden. Spazieren Sie an der Uferpromenade entlang während Sie sich ein leckeres italienisches Eis gönnen und baden Sie anschließend im kristallklaren Meer – in Marina di Ragusa sind Urlaubsfreuden garantiert.

Weitere Informationen und Bilder zu Marina di Ragusa

 Lage

 

 Unterkünfte

Unsere Unterkünfte in


Keine Treffer

Unsere Unterkünfte befinden sich ganz in der Nähe von Ragusa in Marina di Ragusa.